Café Review: Double Dogs Tearoom, Chinatown, Bangkok

Tucked away in bustling Chinatown, Bangkok is a little Chinese oasis called Double Dogs Tea Room.  Located on the main Yaowarat Road, right around the corner from seas of tourists and street vendors, this tea shop offers an air-condiioned reprieve after a morning of sweating your weight out while shopping.

dd1.jpg

Photo credit: bk.asia-city.com

I headed to Double Dogs with my friend Julie after spending a morning perusing Chinatown because I had heard about their mochi and had read online that they’re supposedly one of the best places to get tea in Bangkok.  So the second they opened at 1PM, we swan-dove into the air conditioning and picked up a menu.  It was surprisingly not crowded consider how highly reviewed it was online, but then again we literally got there when it opened at 1PM, or actually when they let us in at 12:56 PM, because we were dying of heat.

PerusingChinatown

Said perusing in Chinatown.

Double Dogs serves a traditional Chinese tea menu.  That means that (for the most part) you order tea by the pot, as in one tea for two people, two teas for two people, two teas for four people, etc.  You can also order it with a selection of Chinese desserts, like other traditional high teas.  The menu also comes with a detailed description of each tea and where it comes from, which I really loved.  It’s nice when you go somewhere that specializes in something like tea and they don’t expect you to understand the menu completely.

While normally I really enjoy high tea, this time I was there for the mochi.  Mochi is this gelatin-like Japanese dessert.  This particular type of mochi is clear and looks like a giant dew drop.  It’s served with a tiny bit of brown sugar, the finest ground and fluffiest brown sugar I’ve ever seen.  I originally heard of this dessert because I had read about it being popular at Smorgasburg in NYC(they stole the idea from Asia, not vice versa), so my curiosity was killing me.  They had a deal for a Japanese green tea called Sencha when you ordered mochi, so I decided to give that a try as well.

DSC_0725.jpg

The mochi looked like something out of Avatar.  It was completely transparent, and jiggled when you moved it.  Honestly it looked like a breast implant.  I poked it with my spoon, expecting it to burst like the dew drop it resembled, but it staying in one solid blob like jell-o.  It didn’t really have much flavor, just a slight molasses flavor from the brown sugar it came with.  It was good, but not amazing, I just wanted to try it out of curiosity.  The Japanese green tea was good as well, and wasn’t too bitter, so I was able to sip it without sugar for once.  The whole order cost me around 180 baht.

DSC_0724.jpg

The spread.

Julie ordered a pot of traditoinal Chinese tea, I can’t recall the flavor but it was recommended by our waitress.  It came in a traditional Chinese tea set, meaning after the first cup you poured it yourself, using some kind of a kettle contraption that poured the water through the tea leaves and immediately poured out brewed tea.  My tea was a little different, I was given a kettle of hot water, and my Sencha had the leaves already in it.  When I wanted a new cup  I was supposed to pour more hot water over the tea leaves, then put the lid on my cup and let it sit for like 10 seconds.  So authentic.

TeaStitch.jpg

The tea room also served us some kind of weird rice puffs wrapped in seaweed.  Incident #500 when I had no idea know what I was eating.  I tried a couple, but they just tasted like salty corn puffs with a seaweed flavor.  Not exactly my ~cup of tea~ (lol), but maybe they’re some kind of Chinese snack.

DSC_0727edited.jpg

The service was also great.  Probably because we were two Western blondes, the hostess and waitress struck up a conversation with us upon leaving.  It was just the usual “Where are you from, how did you find us” jazz, but it was nice.  My green tea was good, but I definitely plan on going back to Double Dogs’ to try their full high tea.

Here’s a link to their Facebook, check it out.

 

Leave a Reply

