Hindu Ceremony at Uluwatu Temple, Kuta, Bali – Photo Blog

uluwatustitch1

If you read my previous post, Krazy in Kuta, you’ll know that I, ironically enough, wasn’t too crazy about Kuta.  Like I explained earlier, it was fun, it served it’s purpose, but there wasn’t anything super interesting from a cultural perspective, nothing that it made it unique from any other party destination in Southeast Asia.  However, one “cultural” thing that we did in Kuta was take a short trip to see Uluwatu Temple.

DSC_1082.jpg

Getting around Bali is kind of a pain.  Public busses/transit aren’t really a thing(or at least I couldn’t find them) so my group of friends and I(8 people at this point, making it cheap) hired a van to take us there.  I can’t remember the exact numbers, but I believe it came out to around 60,0000 rupiah each, or about $4-$5US.  Uluwatu, while it’s technically located in Kuta, still took us about 45 minutes-an hour to get there from the main tourist area where we were staying.  And it wasn’t through peaceful, pretty roads past rice paddies – it was up hills and around winding bends.  Not exactly fun when you’re in a packed car with no aircon.

But, per usual, the temple was worth it.  Uluwatu is known for being the cliff-hanging temple in Bali, located on the edge of a pretty limestone peninsula.  Apparently this part of the island used to be pretty deserted by tourists, until surfers drew attention to it recently.  The entrance fee to the temple was about 40,000 rupiah(about $3US), and they provided sarongs for you to wear inside the temple(many temples won’t let you in or will require you to cover up if your pants are too short).  I didn’t have to cover my shoulders, however, and I was wearing a tank top.

IMG_1762.jpg

The classic “hey can you snap this pic real quick so I can send it to my mom/prove I was actually here” shot, ft. aforementioned tank top & sarong.

The temple itself was of course, crawling with tourists, but it was really pretty.  The cliff it was located on was covered with flowers, and there were pretty little banana-leaf and flower-incense hindu offerings everywhere.  We got lucky with our timing – when we arrived to the temple there was actually a hindu ceremony happening.  I’m not sure which holiday it was, but there were a ton of Balinese people there dressed in traditional clothing, and drummers hammering out traditional music.  The rest of this post is pictures of the ceremony, enjoy.

BananaLeafStitch2.jpg

The pretty banana-leaf offerings we saw all around Bali.

DSC_1100.jpg

UluwatuStitch2.jpg

DSC_1103.jpg

IMG_1850.jpg

IMG_1848.jpg

 

UluwatuStitch3.jpg

After the temple, we hit up neighboring Sultan beach.  It wasn’t the prettiest beach in Bali, but the cliffs were pretty.

DSC_1128.jpg

DSC_1141.jpg

UluwatuStitch4.jpg

Pictured above: Bintang & homegirl who I finally purchased my first sarong from.  I never realized how much I needed a sarong until I finally bought one in Bali – it serves as a beach towel, temple cover-up, overnight-bus blanket, AND towel for when you have no room in your backpack to bring one.  Worth all 50,000 rupiah that I paid.

More Bali chronicles to come!

 

Leave a Reply

