Burmese Bites – Food in Myanmar

Thai food is known around the world for being DANKKK.  And it definitely is better than most cuisines I’ve tried here in Asia – whenever I leave Thailand I always find myself craving Som Tam(spicy papaya salad) or Khao Men Gai(chicken rice).  But the food in Burma was  AMAZING.  It’s a cross between the countries it’s located between, India and Thailand, so that’s really too surprising.  Here’s some of the best Burmese food my travel buddies & I tried while perusing Myanmar.

DSC_0434

Note – if you travel in Myanmar, be careful with what you eat.  I got food poisoning, my friend Steve got food poisoning, and several people we met along the way got food poisoning.

Stuffed Tofu

DSC_0446.jpg

IMG_4222.jpg

Lime juice, cabbage, tofu….yeah this sh*t’s good.  And they make it fresh for you right on the street.

Shan Noodles

IMG_4531.jpg

I would’ve eaten these 6x a day if it was possible.  These noodles were served kind of like a salad, with oil, peanuts, and pickled veggies on the side that you could add.  The Shan noodle soup wasn’t as good however, so if you try make sure you get the dry noodles.

IMG_4473.jpg

Ginger Salad

IMG_4451.jpg

SOOOOO good.  Way better than the tea leaf salad in my opinion, which is what you read about on every blog about Myanmar.

Tea Leaf Salad

IMG_4532.jpg

IMG_4554.jpg

Sea Flower Salad

IMG_4362.jpg

No idea what a “sea flower” is, maybe that’s a language-barrier induced type-o?

Samosas

IMG_4501.jpg
I ate WAY too many samosas on this trip, but no ragrets.  They serve them for breakfast in Myanmar, or eat them with Burmese tea at tea shops.  They’re super cheap too; on the street they only cost 100 kyat (1/14 of a dollar).

Naan Ya

This was naan with chickpeas and onions, SOOOOO good.  This was another tea shop menu item; but you could also find it on the street in Yangon.  I’m not sure if it’s just a regional specialty, but it was everywhere in Yangon and nowhere in Mandalay.

DSC_0396.jpg

DSC_0673.jpg

50 shades of fried noodles

IMG_4556.jpg

Personally I avoid fried noodles outside of Thailand, as often they’re just tourist food designed to feed picky foreigners.  However these were served to us on our trek from Kalaw to Inle Lake, and weren’t bad.

IMG_4628

Mohinga

DSC_0291

Mohinga is a fish-based soup that I read about also on a lot of blogs before going to Myanmar.  Personally it was a little fishy for my taste, but it wasn’t horrible.  It was super cheap too – only 400 kyat for a bowl.

DSC_0294.jpg

Chapati & Potato Curry

IMG_4654.jpg

Inle Lake had a lot of Nepalese food, maybe because of it’s location geographically?  Chapati is like a more oily Nepalese naan.  This sneaky monster is what gave me food poisoning, proof that eating vegetarian doesn’t always keep you safe.

Veggie rice thing

IMG_4334.jpg

This is something that I tried on a menu at a tiny little middle-of-nowhere roadside food stall while taking the circle train outside of Yangon.  It’s pretty popular with the Burmese; I saw it on a lot of posters throughout Myanmar, and I saw a ton of Burmese people eating it.  I have a sneaking suspicion that the little ball of meat next to the egg is a goat’s testicle, as it looks just like the goat testicles I saw in Mark Wein’s blog about food in Yangon.

 Burmese BBQ

DSC_0300.jpg

DSC_0305.jpg

This I kept a 20-foot radius from.  There were these tiny little BBQ pits with skewers of various organs and meats on them everywhere in Yangon; surrounded by little child-sized chairs where people would park it to cook their food.  I’m sure it’s good, just not for the weak-stomached.

Avocados

IMG_4310

I’m probably just excited about these because I’m avocado-deprived after living in Central Thailand, where they cost 100 baht each at Tesco($3).  But they had avocados EVERYWHERE in Myanmar; and they only cost 500 kyat each(about $.35 cents=ish).

DSC_0699.jpg

Roti

DSC_0675.jpg

Riceberry Sticky Rice with Coconut

DSC_0686.jpg

Fried Dough

IMG_4194.jpg

At tea shops & everywhere else they serve these fried dough stick things that you can dip in your tea or whatever.  They even threw it in our rice soup at one stall.

IMG_4286.jpg

Coconut Filled Dumplings

DSC_0295.jpg

DSC_0296.jpg

We tried these at a night market in Yangon and they were SOOO good.  They cost about 500 kyat each, less than $.50 cents.

There you have it, Burmese food alone makes Myanmar worth the trip.

Leave a Reply

